Time 2 Rest

I just wanted to update you how Jane is doing.  She has finished 4 of the 10 sessions.  The side effects so far are, fatigue and nausea.  On Friday after her radiation, the doctors told her that she needed to go to the Oncologist and get some fluids pumped into because she was a little dehydrated.

Doctors and Nurses

I had just gotten the oil changed in Jane’s car when she called to tell me that she was in the Oncologist office getting hydrated.  Jiffy Lube is right down the street of the office, so I stopped in to she how things were going.  Jane was hooked up to an I.V. and one of the nurse was tell her that she should probably be taking more of the steroid.  Jane proceeded to tell the nurse that she didn’t need it.  The Dr. Yee came by and told her that he could give her the steroid intravenously.  But Jane declined because it made her heart rate speed up and made it hard for her to sleep.  Then both the Dr. and the nurse suggested that she take Ativan, it would help with the nausea and also help her sleep.     It took awhile to convince Jane to take it because she so dislikes taking any medication.

Make The Swelling Go Down

When you get radiation to the brain, you are basically burning the brain.  What happens is there is some swelling  to the brain.  The space in your noggin that contains your gray matter is sealed and not meant for a swollen brain.  When you have swelling of the brain it is not good for you, it can cause headaches, nausea, blurred vision and seizures.  This is the same thing that can happen as the result of a concussion.  The steroid, Decadron, is used to bring the swelling down, it is an anti-inflammatory.  The doctor gave Jane some Decadron the swelling went down and she began to feel better.

Mililani

Hope Chapel West O`ahu (HCWO) is starting a new service in Mililani.  We are really excited about this service and I will be helping with it.  Last night we had a prayer service at the new facility.  It was a chance for the core team, the prayer team and some of the Minichurch (Small Group) shepherds to come together for worship and prayer for the service.  It was crazy good!  We had been planning on going to this meeting for about two weeks now and Jane really didn’t want to miss it.  I guess the Decadron did it’s job because Jane was able to attend the meeting.   At the meeting we laid hands on Jane and prayed for her healing.  Then we prayed for the facility and for the service.  Did I tell you that it was crazy good?  I tell you, I could fill the presence of God in that place.

Prayer

Jane is not sleeping as well as she would like, it could be the medication.  She is also drained after the radiation and needs to have lots of rest.  Pray for her energy and for the protection of her brain during the treatments.  Her treatments are at 1:50 P.M. each day.  Pray for me to have extra energy to take care of business so that Jane can rest.  Pray for the boys hearts and minds as they navigate their way through it time.

PROJECT UPDATE

Some of you might be wondering, “Whatever happened to the project.”  Well, the holidays and rain kept us from doing any work from the end of November to the middle of January.  Scott Williams and his, wife’s cousin’s sisters auntie’s brothers cousin 🙂 , Matt,  and I finally finished the priming of the deck’s structure two weeks ago.  Mike Vincent, a coworker, co-laborer in Christ and great friend,  spent the last two weeks helping me cut posts for the railings and installing them (O.K. I tried to help him, but he did most of the work!)  Thanks MIKE!

I ordered the decking materials and hope to pick them up this Saturday and start laying the deck floor.  Once the floor is finished we will start on the top floor.  I know some of you have asked to help, but I didn’t keep records.  So if you want to help just send me an email and I will let you know what the schedule will be.

Thanks for Praying and May God Richly Bless You!

4 thoughts on “Time 2 Rest

  1. I am so excited that your prayer time was crazy good! I am praying for the Power of God to be present to heal as we all join together through fervent, boiling prayer and fasting.

    1CORINTHIANS 2:9 “….Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard,neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that love Him.”

    Phil.1:6 ” Being confident of this very thing, that He which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ.

    PSALM 30:2 ” O Lord my God, I cried unto Thee, and Thou hast healed me.”

    PSALM 34:19 ” Many are the afflictions of the righteous: but the Lord delivereth him out of them all.”

    May we stand in awe of Him.

    To God be the glory

    Stef

  2. Hi Jane, Ray, Samuel & Gabriel,

    Just a short note to let you know you are on my heart and in my prayers. I also added you to my bedtime prayers with Autumn. She knows how to say “Aunty Jane.” May the Lord carry you in His arms and restore your strength.

    Love,

    Laura

    Psalm 91

Leave a Reply

