Faith and Perseverance

Alright!  The last post talked about the swelling in Jane’s brain.  The swelling is gone and she is now off the steroids, as of yesterday.   Wednesday, September 9th, Jane had to go to the hospital to get a CT scan and bone scan.   On Friday we got the results back.

The Results

Overall the results were good but not great.  The results showed that the cancer in Jane’s back has progressed from T10 vertebrae to the T 7 vertebrae.

The rest of her body is clear!

Treatment

To stop this progression the doctor has recommended that Jane start on a new chemo regiment on Monday.  Jane will be taking Gemzar (Gemcitabine) on a weekly basis.  The side effects are minimal, but we will be watching her carefully.

NEWS FLASH

We have decided to hold off on the chemo treatment until after we get the results from the brain MRI that Jane got on Tuesday.  The results of the MRI will tell us the outcome of the GAMA Knife surgery and will let us know of any other activity.

Faith and Perseverance

Faith

I often wonder why God doesn’t just heal Jane. You might be asking the same question.  I don’t have an answer, but hopefully some encouragement.  I have been wondering if the reason that God isn’t healing Jane is due to a lack of faith.  Is it faith? Is it because I do not have enough faith?  Does Jane have enough faith? Do you, who have been praying fatefully, have enough faith?  What about people with the gift of healing, we’ve seen a number of them, do they have enough faith for Jane?  All it requires is faith the size of a mustard seed.

The Bible teaches faith as one way people are healed.    In Matthew 8 the Roman officer came and pleaded with Jesus for the healing of a servant.  When Jesus said, “I’ll come,” the Roman officer refused and said “I am not worthy to have you come into my home just say the word from where you are, and my servant will be healed.”  Jesus replied, ” I tell you the truth, I haven’t seen faith like this in all of Israel!”    And in Matthew 9 the woman that was suffering from bleeding for 12 years touch Jesus and she was healed instantly.  Jesus responded by saying, “Daughter, be encouraged!  Your faith has made you well.”

It is pretty clear, faith heals, or does it?  Truth be told I’m sure over a thousand people have lift Jane up in prayer and I’m pretty sure that one in that thousand has enough faith for Jane’s healing.  So then the question is why didn’t Jesus respond to our faith?

Perseverance

I don’t know why Jesus didn’t respond to our cries of faith, but I’m still trusting God and know that you are too!   I read a great post, by Pastor Tim Burt on the ‘The “Why God?” questions.’ It was timely and encouraging.  I don’t need to know the answer to every question, I just need to keep asking with a child like faith.  Over time God will show me more and allow me to understand more.

As we continue to wage this battle, I would like to encourage you to not lose hope and to continue to pray.  Take a look at Luke 18:1-8

One day Jesus told his disciples a story to show that they should always pray and never give up. 2 “There was a judge in a certain city,” he said, “who neither feared God nor cared about people. 3 A widow of that city came to him repeatedly, saying, ‘Give me justice in this dispute with my enemy.’ 4 The judge ignored her for a while, but finally he said to himself, ‘I don’t fear God or care about people, 5 but this woman is driving me crazy. I’m going to see that she gets justice, because she is wearing me out with her constant requests!’ ”

6 Then the Lord said, “Learn a lesson from this unjust judge. 7 Even he rendered a just decision in the end. So don’t you think God will surely give justice to his chosen people who cry out to him day and night? Will he keep putting them off? 8 I tell you, he will grant justice to them quickly! But when the Son of Man returns, how many will he find on the earth who have faith?”

As I read these scripture I am reminded to always pray and never give up.  I may be tempted to lose faith/heart and want to just give in (This is what the enemy wants).  As Christians, we often times find ourselves in crisis of faith.  The world looks on and cannot understand what drives us to keep calling out to a God who allows such awful terrible atrocities to bring disaster to people.  What they don’t understand is that God, our God, is a good God.  I won’t pretend that I haven’t questioned God, because I have.  I won’t say that I have walked in total faith, because I haven’t.   But, because I have a history with God and because he has always been faithful, even when I haven’t, I know that I can trust in the Lord.  Take a moment and look back on how faithful God has been, and continue to pray!

Prayer

Please pray that Jane will continue to recuperate.  Pray that her body grows strong.  Pray that her/our family stays strong of mind.  Pray for a complete heal and demand the cancer to leave her body.  Pray for her brain MRI later this month, pray for the results to come back clear.  Pray for our family as this has been a long and arduous journey, that at times leaves us tired, in tears and sometimes discouraged.  Most of the time we walk in courage and faith that is a result of the prayers that are lifted up by you. Let me encourage you to continue “to always  pray and never give up!”

Thank You

Thank you for all the prayers, support and kindness that you have poured on us.  We can’t express our gratitude enough!!!!!!!!

Tyndale House Publishers: Holy Bible : New Living Translation. 2nd ed. Wheaton, Ill. : Tyndale House Publishers, 2004, S. Lk 18:1-8

6 thoughts on “Faith and Perseverance

  1. Pastor Ray, I love your post on “Faith and Perserverance”…I’ve wondered that too and often. I’m still praying and always will for you, Jane and the boys. Love you guys.

  2. I was blown away by the power of the questions raised in your Faith and Perseverance blog. You are an incredible family and your Faith has moved many I am sure to increase theirs. My self included. Love you all. Paul

  3. Ray & Jane,

    Thank you for your amazing and encouraging post. Despite the question, I continue to feel that your familiy’s journey is all about faith, about having enough.

    In the years that I have been praying for you, the Lord has continued to impress upon me that He is using your family to wage an amazing battle on earth and in the heavenlies. And He chose your family because you had the strength and the courage that He needed.

    So many have been raised up in prayer and strengthened in faith by standing beside your family. Through Jane’s illness, the Lord is raising up an awesome army for the Kingdom. He is doing something amazing of which we can only see a little.

    My heart is always to pray that the Lord’s plans through your family will be accomplished (for I know they are great and are pivotal in advancing the Lord’s Kingdom and saving His people) and that when the work is done, He would finally, permanently and completely heal Jane. The final miracle in this glorius work He has been doing!

    Psalm 27 comes to mind, “Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.” We are all waiting: waiting for all the Lord is doing through your family to be accomplished, waiting for Him to reveal to us the answer to all the whys?, and waiting for the Lord to heal Jane. In the meantime, I continue to pray for your family to be strengthened in faith and in one another.

    Though it may not seem like it at times, the Lord’s favor is indeed upon your family!

    With Love,
    Diane 🙂

  4. Ray, good that the Lord is moving in your hearts. I am encouraged and will continue to lift all four of you up and your in-laws. God is being glorified in you and Jane and all. I also remember the crippled man who was begging alms daily in front of the temple, who would have been seen by Jesus for years, but only when Peter and John saw him did the faith/healing be put into effect.

    Love,

    Sean and Shannon (Joan, Evan and Kaitie) will read this later I am sure…Be blessed

  5. Hi Ray, thanks for the update. We continue to pray for Jane and her willingless to perservere through this time. Recently God put on my heart Faith vs Fear – we choose we do. Your family has choosen Faith and I see God’s Blessing over Jane, you and your family. Jane has touched many people by her courage and Faith.

    Blessings,
    Ed, Bernie, and girly gang

  6. Pastor Ray,
    You and Jane have someone new praying for you now!
    Psalm 103:1-5 (NIV)
    Of David.

    Praise the Lord, O my soul;
    all my inmost being, praise his holy name.
    [2] Praise the Lord, O my soul,
    and forget not all his benefits–
    [3] who forgives all your sins
    and heals all your diseases,
    [4] who redeems your life from the pit
    and crowns you with love and compassion,
    [5] who satisfies your desires with good things
    so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

    We stand with you for Jane’s complete recovery and healing! Bless you! Pastor Tim & Renee Burt

Leave a Reply

